handyfloss

Because FLOSS is handy, isn’t it?

Compiz Fusion on an integrated Intel 865G graphics chip under Debian Lenny

Posted by isilanes on December 14, 2007

Blog moved to: handyfloss.net

Entry available at: http://handyfloss.net/2007.12/compiz-fusion-on-an-integrated-intel-865g-graphics-chip/

This YouTube video shows Compiz Fusion running on my work computer. It has a fairly decent CPU (P4 3.00GHz), but no “useless” things like sound cards or (more relevant for this issue) graphics card. The only thing it has is an Intel 82865G graphics chip integrated in the motherboard. We are talking about an integrated chip (not dedicated graphics card) released in May 2003.

Judge the performance for yourself (take into account that the actual performance is higher, since the recording program to make the video also uses up some resources):

5 Responses to “Compiz Fusion on an integrated Intel 865G graphics chip under Debian Lenny”

  1. Amila said

    I’ve used debian lenny on my HP dv2000 laptop. Then I install all the packages of compiz-fusion through apt-get.
    I got the compiz-manager, but no effect are working. The compiz manager is located on the KBFX menu and I could coonfigure them but no effects are working. The video driver of the laptop is intel integrated graphic card.

    Please help me to fix this

    Regards

  2. isilanes said

    Please note that this blog has moved to: handyfloss.net

    What you should run is “fusion-icon”. This places an icon in the system tray. You can right click this icon to open a menu, in which you can, among other things:

    Open CCSM, the compiz settings manager
    Open the Emerald Theme Manager (the decorations of the windows)
    Select the Window Manager

    You have to choose Compiz in the latter, for CF to work. If you want to go back to “normal” setup, you can just select KWin (KDE), Metacity (GNOME), Xfwm4 (Xfce) or whatever.

    Of course, all this won’t work if you don’t have hardware acceleration for graphics. You can test that with “glxinfo | grep render” (glxinfo is in package mesa-utils). In my graphics card-less computer, this outputs:

    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) 865G 20061017 x86/MMX/SSE2

    which is fine (see the “Yes” in direct rendering).

    You can then run glxgears, and see what FPS you get (in the aforementioned computer, I get ~430).

    Check related posts at: http://handyfloss.net/?s=compiz

  3. Amila said

    Fd

    my intel graphic card is intel express 945 GM

    thanx

  4. r000t said

    I have the same card in my computer, but my GL renderer string is Software Rasterizer. Where can I find the proper drivers for Debian/Crunchbang?

    • isilanes said

      You can search for package names with “intel” in them. I can’t help you more, because I do not use that system anymore (I use Arch Linux now). In Arch, there is a package “intel-dri”, which is what you need, I guess.

Leave a Reply

 
