handyfloss

Because FLOSS is handy, isn’t it?

My music collection hits 5000

Posted by isilanes on December 18, 2006

OK, OK, having 5,000 songs is not that much. I’ve heard people with collection in the 15,000s and over. The eMule freaks, downloading 24/7 without ever actually listening to anything can easily have collections in the 50,000s.

However, I never downloaded a copyrighted song from eMule, even though my collection does not entirely consist on original CDs. Actually I downloaded a lot of albums from the Internet… namely Creative Commons music from Jamendo.

Some info about my collection (some statistics taken from the Amarok player, since around June 2006):

Total songs:        5015
  - Commercial:     3944
  - Jamendo:        1055
  - Other CC:       31
Total playing time: 1 week and 6 days
Total file size:    22GB
Song playcount:     10910
Different artists:  627
Different albums:   413
In MP3:             1562
In OGG:             3468

There is some mismatch (5030 songs, as counted from actual files (all OGG and MP3 files I have in a given directory) vs. 5015 songs as counted from the Amarok collection), but I see no easy way of filtering the 15 rogue files (update: I did, some time after writing the post).

2 Responses to “My music collection hits 5000”

  1. […] by isilanes on April 24th, 2007 Following the “report” series started with my previous summary of info about the music collection I listen to, I will update that info in this […]

  2. […] by isilanes on November 19, 2007 Following the “report” series started with my first summary of info about the music collection I listen to, I will update that info in this […]

Leave a Reply

 
